Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133  (Read 8604 times)

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #30 on: February 14, 2017, 01:10:00 PM »
Hello there!

Good news:

After some more testing here, I managed to make wpa2 work and connect, acquiring a DHCP lease at last. Bellow, the steps I took:

-- I wrote the following wpa_supplicant-wlan1.conf file, based on my FreeBSD desktop's wpa_supplicant.conf:

Code: [Select]
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant-wlan1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1

eapol_version=2

network={
ssid="testing"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
proto=RSN
psk="poiuytrewq"
}

-- Using exec.php I uploaded it to my t1n1wall testing unit.

-- Moved it from /tmp to /var/etc

-- Executed /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -s -i wlan1 -B -P /var/run/wpa_supplicant-wlan1.pid -c /var/etc/wpa_supplicant-wlan1.conf

And voilą... It woked! I am using it right now to post this reply and It is performing just fine!

I have to say that the only way I could make it work and get a lease was by adding the option eapol_version=2 to the config file. This option is not needed on my FreeBSD desktop, that uses an Atheros chip based card.

So I think it is related to the RaLink chip on the USB dongle.

Anyway, wpa_supplicant keeps dying during boot, and I have to manually repeat the process every time.

What could be the reason?

Thank you!

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #31 on: February 14, 2017, 11:44:06 PM »
Although entering those commands manually result in a connection, I forgot to mention that it takes about 2 minutes to get a lease from DHCP server after issuing /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -s -i wlan1 -B -P /var/run/wpa_supplicant-wlan1.pid -c /var/etc/wpa_supplicant-wlan1.conf

All my other devices, Android, Linux, Windows, FreeBSD based, connect and get leases from the same server in just a few seconds.

Now I'm stuck.

T.y.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2017, 11:45:38 PM by skua »

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2017, 10:11:47 AM »
Good morning,

Testing b139 now. Yes, that new configuration for wpa_supplicant:

Code: [Select]
$ cat /var/etc/wpa_supplicant-wlan1.conf

fast_reauth=1
ap_scan=1
eapol_version=2

network={
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
ssid="testing"
psk="poiuytrewq"
proto=WPA RSN
pairwise=TKIP CCMP
}

works, but wpa_supplicant seems to keep dying during system boot.

I still have to manually enter the wpa_supplicant sequence commands and wait about 2 to 3 minutes for it to get a DHCP lease.

Here we go again!

I'm gonna configure and try different DHCP server hardware and see what happens with this very same t1n1wall config.

Brb...

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #33 on: February 15, 2017, 11:26:49 AM »
Hi,

in regard to my last reply:

Same behavior using different servers/config: a delay of about 2 to 3 minutes to get a lease.

And wpa_supplicant keeps dying on boot.

Could something like ifconfig_wlan1="WPA SYNCDHCP" help in this case?

Thank you.

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #34 on: February 15, 2017, 04:12:30 PM »
Searching the internet, I've found this:

https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/46940/

Can this be useful?

P.S.: If I use static addresses on WAN interface, system gets connected immediately after manually issuing the wpa_supplicant command.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 04:34:08 PM by skua »

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #35 on: February 15, 2017, 06:28:12 PM »
Analyzing dmesg I noticed that run0 firmare (run0: firmware RT3071 ver. 0.33) is loaded twice during boot process:

Code: [Select]
$ dmesg
Copyright (c) 1992-2016 The FreeBSD Project.
Copyright (c) 1979, 1980, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
FreeBSD is a registered trademark of The FreeBSD Foundation.
FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE-p1 #0: Wed Feb 15 08:45:33 GMT 2017
    [email protected]:/usr/t1n1wall/build11/tmp/sys/i386/compile/T1N1WALL_GENERIC i386
FreeBSD clang version 3.8.0 (tags/RELEASE_380/final 262564) (based on LLVM 3.8.0)
CPU: Geode(TM) Integrated Processor by AMD PCS (498.06-MHz 586-class CPU)
  Origin="AuthenticAMD"  Id=0x5a2  Family=0x5  Model=0xa  Stepping=2
  Features=0x88a93d<FPU,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,CX8,SEP,PGE,CMOV,CLFLUSH,MMX>
  AMD Features=0xc0400000<MMX+,3DNow!+,3DNow!>
real memory  = 247357440 (235 MB)
avail memory = 202137600 (192 MB)
random: entropy device external interface
wlan: mac acl policy registered
kbd1 at kbdmux0
K6-family MTRR support enabled (2 registers)
cryptosoft0: <software crypto> on motherboard
acpi0: <GENSW OEM00001> on motherboard
acpi0: Power Button (fixed)
cpu0: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
atrtc0: <AT realtime clock> port 0x70-0x71,0x72-0x73 irq 8 on acpi0
Event timer "RTC" frequency 32768 Hz quality 0
attimer0: <AT timer> port 0x40-0x43 irq 0 on acpi0
Timecounter "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 0
Event timer "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 100
Timecounter "ACPI-safe" frequency 3579545 Hz quality 850
acpi_timer0: <32-bit timer at 3.579545MHz> port 0x9c10-0x9c13 on acpi0
acpi_button0: <Power Button> on acpi0
acpi_button1: <Sleep Button> on acpi0
pcib0: <ACPI Host-PCI bridge> port 0xcf8-0xcff on acpi0
pcib0: Length mismatch for 3 range: bff00000 vs bfefffff
pci0: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib0
vgapci0: <VGA-compatible display> mem 0xe0000000-0xe0ffffff,0xe1000000-0xe1003fff,0xe1004000-0xe1007fff,0xe1008000-0xe100bfff,0xe100c000-0xe100ffff irq 11 at device 1.1 on pci0
vgapci0: Boot video device
pci0: <encrypt/decrypt, entertainment crypto> at device 1.2 (no driver attached)
rl0: <RealTek 8139 10/100BaseTX> port 0xf800-0xf8ff mem 0xe1014000-0xe10140ff irq 10 at device 13.0 on pci0
miibus0: <MII bus> on rl0
rlphy0: <RealTek internal media interface> PHY 0 on miibus0
rlphy0:  10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, auto
rl0: Ethernet address: 18:40:14:00:70:20
isab0: <PCI-ISA bridge> port 0xf400-0xf407,0xf000-0xf0ff,0xec00-0xec3f,0xe800-0xe81f,0xe400-0xe47f,0x9c40-0x9c7f at device 15.0 on pci0
isa0: <ISA bus> on isab0
atapci0: <AMD CS5536 UDMA100 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0xdc00-0xdc0f at device 15.2 on pci0
ata0: <ATA channel> at channel 0 on atapci0
ata1: <ATA channel> at channel 1 on atapci0
pci0: <multimedia, audio> at device 15.3 (no driver attached)
ohci0: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> mem 0xe1015000-0xe1015fff irq 11 at device 15.4 on pci0
usbus0 on ohci0
ehci0: <AMD CS5536 (Geode) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xe1016000-0xe1016fff irq 11 at device 15.5 on pci0
ehci0: pre-2.0 USB revision (ignored)
usbus1: EHCI version 1.0
usbus1 on ehci0
pmtimer0 on isa0
orm0: <ISA Option ROMs> at iomem 0xc0000-0xc7fff,0xc8000-0xd27ff pnpid ORM0000 on isa0
sc0: <System console> at flags 0x100 on isa0
sc0: VGA <16 virtual consoles, flags=0x300>
vga0: <Generic ISA VGA> at port 0x3c0-0x3df iomem 0xa0000-0xbffff on isa0
atkbdc0: <Keyboard controller (i8042)> at port 0x60,0x64 on isa0
atkbd0: <AT Keyboard> irq 1 on atkbdc0
kbd0 at atkbd0
atkbd0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
usbus0: 12Mbps Full Speed USB v1.0
usbus1: 480Mbps High Speed USB v2.0
ugen1.1: <AMD> at usbus1
uhub0: <AMD EHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus1
ugen0.1: <AMD> at usbus0
uhub1: <AMD OHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus0
md0: Preloaded image </mfsroot> 24145920 bytes at 0xc10c64a8
g_access(918): provider md0a has error
g_access(918): provider md0a has error
g_access(918): provider md0a has error
ada0 at ata0 bus 0 scbus0 target 0 lun 0
ada0: <EXPERT FIC 30/06/03> ATA device
ada0: Serial Number FIC00001
ada0: 16.700MB/s transfers (PIO4, PIO 512bytes)
ada0: 249MB (510976 512 byte sectors)
taskqgroup_adjust failed cnt: 1 stride: 1 mp_ncpus: 1 smp_started: 0
taskqgroup_adjust failed cnt: 1 stride: 1 mp_ncpus: 1 smp_started: 0
Timecounter "TSC" frequency 498061562 Hz quality 800
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/md0 []...
uhub1: 4 ports with 4 removable, self powered
stray irq7
stray irq7
uhub0: 4 ports with 4 removable, self powered
random: unblocking device.
ugen1.2: <Ralink> at usbus1
rum0: <Ralink 802.11 bg WLAN, class 0/0, rev 2.00/0.01, addr 2> on usbus1
rum0: MAC/BBP RT2573 (rev 0x2573a), RF RT2528
glxsb0: <AMD Geode LX Security Block (AES-128-CBC, RNG)> mem 0xe1010000-0xe1013fff irq 11 at device 1.2 on pci0
rl0: link state changed to DOWN
done
stray irq7
wlan0: Ethernet address: 00:b0:8c:01:8c:c3
ugen0.2: <vendor 0x04d9> at usbus0
ukbd0: <vendor 0x04d9 product 0x1400, class 0/0, rev 1.10/1.43, addr 2> on usbus0
kbd2 at ukbd0
ugen1.3: <Ralink> at usbus1
run0: <1.0> on usbus1
run0: MAC/BBP RT5390 (rev 0x0502), RF RT5370 (MIMO 1T1R), address 7c:dd:90:a1:f7:89
wlan1: Ethernet address: 7c:dd:90:a1:f7:89
run0: firmware RT3071 ver. 0.33 loaded
done
done
pflog0: promiscuous mode enabled
ifa_maintain_loopback_route: insertion failed for interface wlan1: 17
run0: firmware RT3071 ver. 0.33 loaded
wlan1: link state changed to UP
too many stray irq 7's: not logging anymore

Can that point the reason of wpa_supplicant's "death"?

I think the system is disconnecting interface wlan1 somehow, so wpa_supplicant loses it and dies in the sequence, then wlan1 reconnects again. (?)

And about the line: ifa_maintain_loopback_route: insertion failed for interface wlan1: 17 ??

Enabling or disabling System: Advanced setup --> Additional firmware --> Enable Ralink USB wireless devices
has no effect on wpa_supplicant boot behavior.

As a workaround, maybe running wpa_supplicant later in the boot process could do the trick?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 06:54:03 PM by skua »

andywhite

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #36 on: February 15, 2017, 09:53:15 PM »
I posted an updated version last night, can you test with that ?  it adds the eapol config , but also changes the flags to log properly (it wasn't actually logging correctly), so hopefully you might see some logs now with errors for wpa_supplicant on boot !


skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #37 on: February 15, 2017, 11:37:48 PM »
Yes, I downloaded the last version (b139) and performed those tests with it.

Gonna analyze the logs better and see if I can find something relevant.

Thanks.

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2017, 01:01:19 AM »
I am using t1n1wall generic-pc-2.11.1b139.img

Well,

I couldn't find anything inside /var/log

Code: [Select]
$ ls /var/log
dhcpd.log
dmesg.boot
filter.log
portalauth.log
system.log
vpn.log

and its files related to wpa_supplicant, or wlan1 besides this (last part of /var/log/system.log):

Code: [Select]
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: run0: <1.0> on usbus1
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: run0: MAC/BBP RT5390 (rev 0x0502), RF RT5370 (MIMO 1T1R), address 7c:dd:90:a1:f7:89
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: wlan1: Ethernet address: 7c:dd:90:a1:f7:89
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: run0: firmware RT3071 ver. 0.33 loaded
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: done
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: done
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: pflog0: promiscuous mode enabled
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 kernel: done
Feb 15 22:27:04 cp-charlie2 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
Feb 15 22:26:59 cp-charlie2 last message repeated 2 times
Feb 15 22:27:04 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:04 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:04 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:04 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:14 cp-charlie2 ntpd[105]: no reply received in time, skipping initial time setting
Feb 15 22:27:14 cp-charlie2 kernel: done
Feb 15 22:27:16 cp-charlie2 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 16
Feb 15 22:27:15 cp-charlie2 last message repeated 2 times
Feb 15 22:27:16 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:16 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:16 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:16 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:32 cp-charlie2 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 17
Feb 15 22:27:32 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:32 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:32 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:32 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:49 cp-charlie2 dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
Feb 15 22:27:49 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:49 cp-charlie2 dhclient: send_packet: Network is down
Feb 15 22:27:49 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:49 cp-charlie2 dhclient: dhclient.c:2303: Failed to send 300 byte long packet over wlan1 interface.
Feb 15 22:27:59 cp-charlie2 dhclient: No DHCPOFFERS received.
Feb 15 22:27:59 cp-charlie2 dhclient: No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
Feb 15 22:28:12 cp-charlie2 hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:1d:0f:d9:7c:93 IEEE 802.11: associated
Feb 15 22:28:12 cp-charlie2 hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:1d:0f:d9:7c:93 RADIUS: starting accounting session 0CBE54D6-00000000
Feb 15 22:28:12 cp-charlie2 hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:1d:0f:d9:7c:93 WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Feb 15 22:28:13 cp-charlie2 kernel: too many stray irq 7's: not logging anymore

Also, status.php points to nothing related to wpa_supplicant... and the pure dump of dmesg I already posted second to last reply.

What should I do now?

Tks.

andywhite

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #39 on: February 18, 2017, 07:43:39 PM »
Please try b140.  wpa_supplicant was exiting before syslog started to record that it was exiting.

b140 starts syslog earlier, and also fixes the reason why it was exiting (due to the interface going down in the wan configuration code)

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #40 on: February 20, 2017, 02:46:33 AM »
G'night!

Well, good news and bad news using b140.

Now my t1n1wall unit connects to the DHCP server thru WAN just fine and fast, as expected. wpa_supplicant seems to be running nicely.

But I can only check the system status via console now. For some reason b140 introduced a problem:

it just stopped broadcasting the LAN's SSID in AP mode (it is not hidden), so I cannot connect to it and access to check it via webGUI.

I reseted the system to factory defaults, made a fresh & clean reinstall via dd, but it didn't solve the problem.

I think we're almost there...

Regards.

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #41 on: February 20, 2017, 03:40:04 AM »
Hello,

it is worth to mention that if I change position of the dongles on the thin client usb ports, LAN starts to broadcast SSID again, but now it can't assign a DHCP lease to my computer, as if all the problem was inverted from WAN to LAN:

My desktop's ifconfig dump:

Code: [Select]
wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 00:1d:0f:xx:xx:xx
inet6 fe80::21d:fff:fed9:7c93%wlan0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
inet 0.0.0.0 netmask 0xff000000 broadcast 255.255.255.255
nd6 options=23<PERFORMNUD,ACCEPT_RTADV,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet OFDM/54Mbps mode 11g
status: associated
ssid TestLAN channel 11 (2462 MHz 11g) bssid 00:b0:8c:01:8c:c3
regdomain FCC country US indoor ecm authmode WPA2/802.11i privacy ON
deftxkey UNDEF TKIP 2:128-bit txpower 30 bmiss 7 scanvalid 60
protmode CTS wme burst roaming MANUAL
groups: wlan

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #42 on: February 24, 2017, 03:20:29 AM »
Hi,

Now that t1n1wall b140 made wpa_supplicant work correctly, it looks like hostapd is the one now being killed for some reason:

Code: [Select]
$ ps ax
PID TT  STAT     TIME COMMAND
  0  -  DLs   0:00.34 [kernel]
  1  -  ILs   0:00.05 /sbin/init --
  2  -  DL    0:00.00 [crypto]
  3  -  DL    0:00.00 [crypto returns]
  4  -  DL    0:00.00 [cam]
  5  -  DL    0:00.53 [pf purge]
  6  -  DL    0:00.29 [rand_harvestq]
  7  -  DL    0:00.11 [md0]
  8  -  DL    0:00.00 [soaiod1]
  9  -  DL    0:00.00 [soaiod2]
 10  -  RL   10:05.11 [idle]
 11  -  WL    0:01.32 [intr]
 12  -  DL    0:00.00 [ng_queue]
 13  -  DL    0:00.00 [geom]
 14  -  DL    0:01.18 [usb]
 15  -  DL    0:00.00 [soaiod3]
 16  -  DL    0:00.00 [soaiod4]
 17  -  DL    0:00.02 [pagedaemon]
 18  -  DL    0:00.00 [pagezero]
 19  -  DL    0:00.00 [idlepoll]
 20  -  DL    0:00.01 [bufspacedaemon]
 21  -  DL    0:00.01 [bufdaemon]
 22  -  DL    0:00.01 [vnlru]
 23  -  DL    0:00.03 [syncer]
 24  -  DL    0:00.00 [flowcleaner]
 48  -  Ss    0:00.05 /usr/sbin/syslogd -ss
 93  -  Ss    0:00.02 /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -s -i wlan1 -B -P /var/run/wpa_s
 97  -  Is    0:00.01 /sbin/dhclient -nw -cf /var/etc/dhclient.conf -sf /sbin/d
120  -  Ss    0:00.05 /sbin/pfmon pflog0 /var/run/pfmon.pid
124  -  Ss    0:00.04 /usr/local/sbin/mini_httpd -c **.php|**.cgi -u root -maxp
129  -  S<s   0:00.06 ntpd: ntp engine (ntpd)
130  -  Is    0:00.02 ntpd: dns engine (ntpd)
143  -  I<s   0:00.00 ntpd: [priv] (ntpd)
148  -  I     0:00.01 /usr/local/sbin/dnsmasq --conf-dir=/var/etc/dnsmasq
159  -  I     0:00.03 /bin/sh /etc/rc.initial console
287  -  SN    0:00.43 /usr/local/bin/php exec.php
288  -  Z     0:00.00 <defunct>
289  -  S     0:00.00 /usr/local/sbin/mini_httpd -c **.php|**.cgi -u root -maxp
290  -  RN    0:00.05 ps ax

In order to access webGUI, now I have to connect an ethernet cable to OPT1 (rl0 bridged to LAN) and manually remove the usb dongle (rum0) assigned to LAN.

Then reinserting the dongle and executing ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev rum0 and ifconfig wlan0 192.168.2.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 to reconfigure the interface:

Code: [Select]
$ ifconfig
rl0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=2008<VLAN_MTU,WOL_MAGIC>
ether 18:40:14:00:70:20
inet6 fe80::1a40:14ff:fe00:7020%rl0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
inet 192.168.2.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
nd6 options=61<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL,NO_RADR>
media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
status: active
enc0: flags=41<UP,RUNNING> metric 0 mtu 1536
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
groups: enc
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
groups: lo
pflog0: flags=100<PROMISC> metric 0 mtu 33184
groups: pflog
wlan1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 7c:dd:90:a1:f7:89
inet6 fe80::7edd:90ff:fea1:f789%wlan1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x6
inet 192.168.1.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
nd6 options=61<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL,NO_RADR>
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet OFDM/36Mbps mode 11g
status: associated
ssid "testing" channel 1 (2412 MHz 11g) bssid 72:59:b1:34:ca:45
regdomain FCC country US authmode WPA2/802.11i privacy ON
deftxkey UNDEF AES-CCM 2:128-bit txpower 30 bmiss 7 scanvalid 60
protmode CTS wme roaming MANUAL
groups: wlan
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether ae:0f:55:ab:2a:06
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
groups: bridge
id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
member: rl0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
        ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 55
wlan0: flags=8c02<BROADCAST,OACTIVE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 00:b0:8c:01:8c:c3
inet 192.168.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
inet6 fe80::2b0:8cff:fe01:8cc3%wlan0 prefixlen 64 tentative scopeid 0x5
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (autoselect)
status: no carrier
ssid "" channel 7 (2442 MHz 11g)
regdomain FCC country US authmode OPEN privacy OFF txpower 30 bmiss 7
scanvalid 60 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250 roam:rssi 7
roam:rate 5 protmode CTS wme
groups: wlan

But if I try to run hostapd -B -P /var/run/hostapd-wlan0.pid /var/etc/hostapd-wlan0.conf, it gives me this:

Code: [Select]
$ hostapd -B -P /var/run/hostapd-wlan0.pid /var/etc/hostapd-wlan0.conf
Configuration file: /var/etc/hostapd-wlan0.conf
bsd_set_if_media: SIOCSIFMEDIA Device not configured
bsd_init: failed to set operation mode
bsd driver initialization failed.
wlan0: interface state UNINITIALIZED->DISABLED
wlan0: AP-DISABLED
hostapd_free_hapd_data: Interface wlan0 wasn't started
ELOOP: remaining socket: sock=6 eloop_data=0x28c52000 user_data=0x0 handler=0x81f6650

I hope that such info can help someway.

TY

skua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't assign wlan device on generic-pc-2.11.1b133
« Reply #43 on: March 08, 2017, 03:17:45 PM »
Hello...

Still stuck here. Any help?